RIBA Plan of Work 2013

The RIBA Outline Plan of Work 2007 is part of the mind-set of every architect and most other professionals involved in the construction industry and is woven into their processes. This section sets out the conceptual shift from the former RIBA Outline Plan of Work 2007 to the new RIBA Plan of Work 2013.

The former RIBA Outline Plan of Work 2007 consisted of eleven stages defined by the letters A–L, a description of key tasks and reference to former Office of Government Commerce (OGC) Gateways™.

The RIBA Plan of Work 2013 consists of eight stages defined by the numbers 0–7, and eight task bars, as illustrated in Figure 2.

RIBA Plan of Work 2013

Stage 0

Strategic Definition is a new stage in which a project is strategically appraised and defined before a detailed brief is created. This is particularly relevant in the context of sustainability, when a refurbishment or extension, or indeed a rationalised space plan, may be more appropriate than a new building. Certain activities in Stage 0 are derived from the former (RIBA Outline Plan of Work 2007) Stage A – Appraisal.

Stage 1

Preparation and Brief merges the residual tasks from the former Stage A – Appraisal – with the Stage B – Design Brief – tasks that relate to carrying out preparation activities and briefing in tandem.

Stage 2

Concept Design maps exactly to the former Stage C – Concept.

Stage 3

Developed Design maps broadly to the former Stage D – Design Development – and part of Stage E – Technical Design. The strategic difference is that in the RIBA Plan of Work 2013 the Developed Design will be coordinated and aligned with the Cost Information by the end of Stage 3. This may not increase the amount of design work required, but extra time will be needed to review information and implement any changes that arise from comments made before all the outputs are coordinated prior to the Information Exchange at the end of Stage 3.

Stage 4

Technical Design comprises the residual technical work of the core design team members. At the end of Stage 4, the design work of these designers will be completed, although they may have to respond to Design Queries that arise from work undertaken on site during Stage 5. This stage also includes and recognises the importance of design work undertaken by specialist subcontractors and/or suppliers employed by the contractor (Performance Specified Work in JCT contracts) and the need to define this work early in the process in the Design Responsibility Matrix.

Stage 5

Construction maps to the former Stage K – Construction to Practical Completion – but also includes Stage J – Mobilisation.

Stage 6

Handover and Close Out maps broadly to the former Stage L – Post Practical Completion – services..

Stage 7

In Use is a new stage which includes Post-occupancy Evaluation and review of Project Performance as well as new duties that can be undertaken during the In Use period of a building.